DUI.


Alcohol seriously impairs a driver\'s judgment, coordination and reactions. It can make you a hazard to yourself, your passengers, other road users and pedestrians. That is why drink driving is such a serious offence. If a person has been stopped for speeding or aggressive driving he or she going to be tested. The policeman will ask a person to take a breath test and few other tests like walking on the straight line and telling the alphabet.


Alcohol in the body can be measured in the breath, blood or urine. A driver will be found guilty of drink-driving if he or she has more than 35 microgrammes of alcohol in 100 milliliters of breath. “If a driver refuses to take the breath test or fails to blow into the device properly, his or her driver’s license will be suspended for seven days immediately after arrest” (Virginia Driver’s Manual, p.2-3). Also this person will end up with a heavy fine and his/her license endorsed with 3 or 4 penalty points. If the test is positive, the driver will be arrested and taken to a police station for a further breath test, or in some circumstances a blood or urine test.


Drivers found to exceed blood alcohol content (BAC) .08 percent or higher are automatically given a minimum one-year disqualification. A subsequent offence within 10 years will result in a minimum disqualification of three years and the possibility of the driving license being revoked. “If a person is under the age of 21 and he or she driving with a BAC of at least .02 percent, but less than .08 percent, that person can be fined up to $500 and have driver’s license suspended for six months. He/she also faces a possible jail term for driving while intoxicated”(Virginia Driver’s Manual p. 2-4).